Donald Trump refuses to sign statement supporting marriage equality and transgender rights

We already knew this president doesn’t believe in equality of any kind:

The Trump administration has refused to join several North and South American nations in supporting same-sex marriage and transgender rights.

Last month, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights found Costa Rica in violation of its treaty obligations under the American Convention on Human Rights (ACHR) for LGBT people, and ordered 16 nations in the region to make same-sex marriage legal.

After that decision, seven countries in the Organization of American States (OAS) LGBTI Core Group signed a statement supporting the court’s opinion.

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Uruguay all signed the statement, with the United States the only member of the OAS LGBTI Core Group that refused to do so. Trump’s refusal is all the more glaring given Chile, which currently does not have marriage equality, supported the measure.

What's on your mind...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s